Please, First You Need To Login×

Kingsport Theatre Guild

Kingsport Theatre Guild
  • Agency Type : Theater
  • Agency Name : Kingsport Theatre Guild
  • Popular Market : KTG
  • Phone : 4233928427
  • Website : http://www.kingsporttheatre.org
  • Email : kingsporttheatreguild@gmail.com
  • Location : 1200 E Center St (18.16 mi) Kingsport, Tennessee 37660

About Agency

Kingsport Theatre Guild is one of the oldest community theatres in the state, in continuous operation since 1947.

J. Fred Johnson, one of Kingsport’s founders, may have been the city’s first prominent Thespian. He appeared in a 1920 theatrical production titled “Everybody’s Husband” for the benefit of the future public library. It wasn’t until 1947, however, that an official community theater was formed and Kingsport Theatre Guild presented its first formal offering, “Yes and No.”

Through the years, the Kingsport Theatre Guild has performed in a variety of venues, including a barn on a Eden’s Ridge, School auditorium, Church Fellowship halls, a community center on Sullivan Street, a Fine Arts Center on Church Circle, and, currently, at the Renaissance Center.

In 1992, KTG expanded its Board of Directors to include more community representatives, and in 1993 hired its first staff person. Since that time much has been accomplished. Growing audiences and increasing financial support from local businesses and individuals have enabled the Kingsport Theatre Guild to offer a year-round schedule of musicals, dramas, comedies and thrillers, as well as children’s theatre produced specifically for school groups.

For an arts organization to exist for more than 50 years requires the vision, commitment and determination of many people. The Kingsport Theatre Guild appreciates the business and individuals who support community theater through sponsorship, membership, volunteerism, or by the attendance of KTG productions.

Agency Achievements

Serving the Region since 1947

Board of Directors: 

Executive Artistic Director:  Tina Radtke
President: Angie Marshall
Vice President: Darrell Duncan
Treasurer: Ian Woodworth
 Kate Woodworth
 Justin Mann
 Stephanie Rose
 Kristi Bailey
 Mark Kilgore
 Shane Christian
 Nakia Cyphers
 Brooks Pitchie

Volunteer Team Leaders: 

Box Office Team: Donna Lockhart

Technical Team: Matt Curry

Sound Team: Travis Dugger

Costume Team: Michelle Weintre

Props and Posters: Jessica Curry

Wig Master: Isaiah Johnson

Production Liaison: John Kaywood